-  Tuesday 19 January 2021

MMC win national league football

KATHMANDU, Feb 21 - Manang Marshyangdi Club (MMC) Tuesday won the Martyr’s Memorial San Miguel ‘A’ division All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) League for the 6th time defeating defending champions Nabil Three Star Club (NTSC) 1-0 with a late injury time goal from Nigerian striker Nurudeen Olawale Salau.

The solitary goal of the match came after NTSC defender Lok Bandhu Gurung miscued a back pass  3 minutes into the second half injury time. MMC striker Nurudeen grabbed the opportunity to seal the match for his team.

MMC also equaled Ranipokhari Corner Team’s (RCT) record of winning the league for the 6th time.

MMC won the league for the first time in BS 2043. The team soon became one of the dominant forces in Nepali club football as it went on to win the national league in BS 2044/46/57/60. MMC is considered to be the most successful club in the history of modern Nepali football.

The high profile match played amid tight security in front of 15,000 screaming fans was below par. Both the teams played under pressure and failed to create chances as they resorted to long passes although NTSC played a more attacking game. Towards the end of the first half a brilliant free kick from NTSC’s playmaker Pradeep Maharjan came off the cross bar saving the day for MMC.

 The final match of the league was also the decider for the title.  NTSC went into the match in a must win situation against MMC while MMC just needed a draw to lift the title.

NTSC goalie and Nepali International veteran Upendra Man Singh walked away with the most coveted prize of the Toyota best player. Singh was awarded a new ‘Toyota Yaris’ while Mahendra Police Club’s Ritesh Thapa was a jubilant man after he was awarded the “Best Goalkeeper” title. “I knew my contribution to my team was good but was not sure that I would leave my fellow players behind with the prize,” Thapa said. He further added that he was looking forward to making a significant contribution to the national side.

MMC’s Sagar Thapa was declared “best defender”, Basanta Gauchan the “best midfielder,” Ramesh Budathoki of MPC the “best striker” while Gyanendra APF walked away with the “fair play” award.


Leave a Reply

Name (*)
Comment (*)
Sec Image
This helps us prevent automated registrations.
francenepal.info Web Google

Copyright © 2006 FRANCE NEPAL, Tous droits réservés , Email : info@nepalfrance.com